Institute for Thermal Energy Technology and Safety (ITES)

Thermal hydraulics of liquid metals

The Karlsruhe Liquid Metal Laboratory (KALLA) performs various basic and application-oriented experiments related to the thermal-hydraulics of liquid metals. Several loop facilities with different working fluids, such as lead, lead-bismuth eutectic (LBE), sodium and indium-gallium are available. The prototypical scale of these facilities allows for example 1:1 model tests for cooling of rod bundles with LBE. Moreover, two water loop facilities are operated at KALLA. A detailed characterization of relevant thermo-hydraulic effect is possible using comprehensive instrumentation, including Laser-Doppler Anemometry (see Fig. velocity measurement in a rod bundle), Particle-Image Velocimetry, flow rate, differential pressure, local temperature and laser-aided free-surface detection.

 

Thermofluiddynamik

 

Research objectives
The broad spectrum of these investigation work ranges from the development of instrumentation, fundamental experiments on flow and heat transfer in generic and complex geometries to the study of the behavior of free-surface flows [1]. The general goal is the development of model descriptions for the investigated phenomena, which then form the basis for the design of components; e.g. for fissile-material-free neutron sources for material and medical research, and for the safety evaluation of concepts investigated in European collaborative programs for the transmutation of long-lived into short-lived fission products.

Within the framework of several pilot studies, the Karlsruhe Liquid Metal Laboratory (KALLA) investigates how components from the energy transmission chain of a concentrating solar power plant based on liquid metals can be represented. The specific focus is placed on high-temperature receivers, storage and transmission systems. Due to their excellent heat transfer properties and their heat storage capacity at high temperatures, liquid metals offer the potential to increase the time availability and efficiency of a solar thermal power plant [2]. As part of the work, a pilot plant was built and operated. more

References:

[1] Pacio, J., Daubner, M., Fellmoser, F., Litfin, K. & Wetzel, T. (2016). Experimental study of heavy-liquid metal (LBE) flow and heat transfer along a hexagonal 19-rod bundle with wire spacers, Nuclear Engineering and Design 301 (2016), 111–127.

[2] Pacio, J., Daubner, M., Fellmoser, F., Litfin, K. & Wetzel, T. (2018). Heat transfer experiment in a partially (internally) blocked 19-rod bundle with wire spacers cooled by LBE, Nuclear Engineering and Design 330 (2018), 225–240.

 

Contact:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wetzel
Tel. +49 721/608-46447
thomas.wetzel∂kit.edu

Institut für Thermische Energietechnik und Sicherheit (ITES)

Thermohydraulik von Schwermetallschmelzen

Im KArlsruhe Liquid Metal LAboratory (KALLA) werden verschiedene grundlagen- und anwendungsorientierte Versuche zur Thermofluiddynamik von flüssigen Metallen durchgeführt. Hierzu stehen meh-rere Flüssigmetallkreisläufe mit den Arbeitsmedien Blei, Blei-Wismuth, Natrium und Indium-Gallium-Zinn zur Verfügung. Die Größe der KALLA-Flüssigmetallkreisläufe ermöglicht unter anderem 1:1-Modellversuche für die Stabbündelkühlung mit Blei-Wismut. Zudem verfügt das Labor über zwei Wasserkreisläufe. Eine umfassende Messtechnikausstattung mit Laser-Doppler-Anemometrie (s. Abb. Geschwindigkeitsmessung in einem Stabbündel), Particle-Image-Velocimetry, Durchfluss- und Druckmesstechnik, Temperaturmesstechnik sowie lasergestützter Oberflächenmesstechnik ermöglicht die umfassende Charakterisierung der untersuchten thermofluiddynamischen Effekte.

 

Thermofluiddynamik

 

Forschungsziel
Das Spektrum der Arbeiten reicht von der Messtechnikentwicklung über Grundlagenversuche zu Strömung und Wärmeübergang in generischen (s. Abb. beheizter Stab im zylindrischen Rohr) und komplexen Geometrien bis zur Erforschung des Verhaltens von freien Oberflächenströmungen [1]. Ziel ist dabei immer die Entwicklung von Modellbeschreibungen für die untersuchten Phänomene, die dann die Basis für die Auslegung von Komponenten z.B. für spaltmaterialfreie Neutronenquellen für Material- und Medizinforschung oder zur Sicherheitsbewertung von in europäischen Verbundprogrammen untersuchten Konzepten zur Transmutation langlebiger in kurzlebige Spaltprodukte bilden.

 

Im Rahmen einiger Pilotstudien wird am Karlsruhe Liquid Metal LAboratory (KALLA) untersucht, wie Komponenten aus der Energieübertragungskette eines konzentrierenden Solarkraftwerks auf Basis von Flüssigmetallen dargestellt werden können. Es geht dabei speziell um Hochtemperaturreceiver, -speicher und -übertragungssysteme. Grundsätzlich bieten Flüssigmetalle aufgrund ihrer exzellenten Wärmeübertragungseigenschaften sowie ihres Wärmespeichervermögens bei hoher Temperatur das Potential, die zeitliche Verfügbarkeit und den Wirkungsgrad eines solarthermischen Kraftwerks zu erhöhen [2]. Im Zuge der Arbeiten ist eine Pilotanlage errichtet und in Betrieb genommen worden. mehr

 

Referenzen:

[1] Pacio, J., Daubner, M., Fellmoser, F., Litfin, K. & Wetzel, T. (2018). Heat transfer experiment in a partially (internally) blocked 19-rod bundle with wire spacers cooled by LBE, Nuclear Engineering and Design 330, 225–240.

[2] Pacio, J. & Wetzel, T. (2013). Assessment of liquid metal technology status and research paths for their use as efficient heat transfer fluids in solar central receiver systems, Sol. Energy 93, 11–22.

 

Kontakt:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wetzel
Tel. 0721/608-46447
thomas.wetzel∂kit.edu