Institute for Thermal Energy Technology and Safety (ITES)

Resilience of Critical Infrastructures

Technological transformations in the area of critical infrastructures, such as those emerging with the energy and mobility transition, are accompanied by an increase of digitization and interconnectivity, but also by an increase of the vulnerability potential of important supply systems (e.g. cyber-attacks).

Systemic risks in the provision of resources, as is the case in a decentralized energy system based on renewable energies (e.g. component failure, volatile feed-in), also threaten supply security.

The above-mentioned aspects together with the fact that developments and dynamics in demand

  • for energy - e.g. drastic increase in power demand due to climate change (cooling in summer) or due to the spread of new power consumers (e-mobility)
  • but also for transport capacities - e.g. due to a continuous increase of inter-urban transport demand (commercial transport),

are difficult to predict. Thus, uncertainties regarding the reliability and resilience of future supply systems are growing.

In order to support sustainability developments in the long term, security of supply must be reassessed against the background of changing boundary conditions in the context of the necessary technological transformations of critical sectors.

 

Since critical services increasingly depend on a reliable supply of electricity and information (Smart City), individual disruptions or interruptions in supply can have devastating effects on the security of supply of an urban area.

Our research investigates degrees of freedom in the design of critical infrastructures (e.g. supply networks) and in the area of robust and dynamic measure development with the aim of improving the resilience of individual infrastructures or infrastructure systems. In this context, AI-based concepts, methods and algorithms are developed for the following main topics:

  • Planning and (real-time) operation of resilient and adaptive (smart) critical infrastructures and supply networks - in particular smart energy systems, water supply and transport systems (motorways) are considered.
  • • Dynamic decision support in crisis management - here methods for the multi-criteria development of robust and coordinated measures including different critical infrastructures such as health care systems, power and water supply (urban resilience) are investigated.

Contacts

Wolfgang Raskob
KIT - Karlsruhe Institute for Technology
Institute for Themal Energy Technology and Safety (ITES)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
D-76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Telephone: +49 721 608 22480
Fax: +49 721 608 28452
Email: wolfgang.raskob∂kit.edu

Sadeeb Simon Ottenburger
KIT - Karlsruhe Institute for Technology
Institute for Themal Energy Technology and Safety (ITES)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
D-76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Telephone: +49 721 608 25507
Fax: +49 721 608 28452
Email: ottenburger∂kit.edu

 

Network:

Projects:

Publicationc:

Institut für Thermische Energietechnik und Sicherheit (ITES)

Resilienz kritischer Infrastrukturen

Mit technologischen Transformationen im Bereich kritischer Infrastrukturen, wie sie sich bspw. mit der Energie- und Mobilitätswende abzeichnen, geht eine Erhöhung des Digitalisierungs- und Vernetzungsgrads, aber auch eine Erhöhung des Vulnerabilitätspotentials von wichtigen Versorgungssystemen einher (z.B. Cyber-Angriffe).

Auch systemische Risiken bei der Bereitstellung von Ressourcen, wie sie in einem dezentralen Energiesystem, das auf erneuerbaren Energien aufgebaut ist (z.B. Komponentenausfall, volatile Einspeisung), gefährden die Versorgungssicherheit.

Die zuvor genannten Aspekte zusammen mit dem Umstand, dass Entwicklungen und Dynamiken bei der Nachfrage

  • nach Energie - z.B. drastische Erhöhung des Strombedarfs aufgrund des Klimawandels (Kühlung im Sommer) oder durch die Verbreitung neuer Stromverbraucher (E-Mobilität),
  • aber auch nach Verkehrskapazitäten - z.B. aufgrund einer kontinuierlichen Zunahme der inter-urbanen Verkehrsnachfrage (Wirtschaftsverkehr),

schwer zu prognostizieren sind, vergrößern Unsicherheiten hinsichtlich der Zuverlässigkeit und Resilienz zukünftiger Versorgungssysteme.

Um Nachhaltigkeitsentwicklungen langfristig zu unterstützen, muss im Rahmen der notwendigen technologischen Transformationen kritischer Sektoren die Sicherheit der Versorgung vor dem Hintergrund sich verändernder Randbedingungen neu bewertet werden.

Da kritische Dienste mehr und mehr u. A. von einer zuverlässigen Strom- wie Informations-Versorgung abhängen (Smart City), können einzelne Störungen oder Versorgungsunterbrechungen verheerende Auswirkungen auf die Versorgungssicherheit eines urbanen Raums haben.

Unsere Forschung hierzu untersucht Freiheitsgrade im Bereich des Designs kritischer Infrastrukturen (z.B. Versorgungsnetze) und im Bereich robuster und dynamischer Maßnahmen-Entwicklung mit dem Ziel der Verbesserung der Resilienz einzelner Infrastrukturen oder Infrastruktur-Systeme. In diesem Zusammenhang werden KI-basierte Konzepte, Methoden und Algorithmen zu den folgenden Schwerpunktthemen erarbeitet:

  • (i) Planung und (Echt-Zeit-)Betrieb resilienter und adaptiver (smarter) kritischer Infrastrukturen und Versorgungsnetze – hierbei werden insb. smarte Energiesysteme, Wasserversorgung und Transportsysteme (Autobahnen) betrachtet.
  • (ii) Dynamische Entscheidungsunterstützung im Krisenmanagement – hierbei werden Methoden zur multi-kriteriellen Entwicklung robuster und koordinierter Maßnahmen unter Einbeziehung verschiedener kritischer Infrastrukturen wie Gesundheitssystem, Strom- und Wasserversorgung (urbane Resilienz) untersucht.

Kontaktadressen:

Wolfgang Raskob
KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Institut für Thermische Energietechnik
und Sicherheit (ITES)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
D- 76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Telefon: +49 721 608 22480
Fax: +49 721 608 28452
Email: wolfgang.raskob∂kit.edu

Sadeeb Simon Ottenburger
KIT - Karlsruhe Institute für Technologie
Institute für Thermische Energietechnik
und Sicherheit (ITES)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
D-76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Telefon: +49 721 608 25507
Fax: +49 721 608 28452
Email: ottenburger∂kit.edu

 

Netzwerk:

Projekte:

Publikationen: